Ask Morgana 163: Mark Demsteader

Mark Demsteader, born 1963 in Manchester, is a neomodernist artist. He is not considered to be a producer of erotic art, and the images I am reproducing below are not, strictly speaking, erotic. However, I’m going to propose that the are, at the very least, obsessive – and I don’t necessarily think I mean that in a bad way, there is nothing wrong with artists having an obsession, discovering a muse, returning again and again to a subject in order to explore every gramme of expression, depiction, interpretation.

Demsteader produced thirty-four pictures of actor Emma Watson, and not simply of ‘Hermione’, but of the Emma Watson who, just turned eighteen, appeared on the red carpet at the Oscars in a short, boyish haircut, and caused a billion jaws to drop. The inspiration for Demsteader’s portfolio of Emmas could well have been her ‘Teen Vogue’ feature, which came hot on the heels of that red carpet moment. I think he understood how iconic she is/was, and how much her coming-of-age was dynamite for so many of us out here, and how eroticism is in the eye of the beholder…

Another reason I am featuring these is because I have a soft spot for neomodernism, for the restatement of modernist values. Oh, damn it, just because!

md1

md3md4md5md6md7 [keep]__________

 Images reproduced under ‘fair use’ provisions.

