Ask Morgana 125: Jeremy Lipking

I can feel an essay on art bubbling up, so I must cut this short before it gets to that stage. I’m lucky. I can stand before a Titian or a Velasquez and say “Wow!” Equally, I can stand before a Mark Rothko and say “Wow!” The current crop of post-modern realists, of which I have featured several, are a breath of fresh air. But what I hope no one forgets, not the artists themselves nor those of us who appreciate them and their rediscovery of a technique, is that much has been discovered about art since artists shifted depiction away from its priority. When we look at a painting, there is so much more going on than the representation of an object.

Jeremy Lipking was born in 1975, and has been compared to 19c realists such as John Singer Sargent. It has been said of him, that “like all great realists, he has the ability to generate powerful fiction.” I would suggest that this is the defintion of romanticism, not realism, but it is a useful note to remember when we recall that there is so much more going on

In this series on erotic art, I have featured many artists who many of you who read this blog may consider did not set out to ‘paint sexy’, but simply painted within a long tradition of the nude. It is not the tradition, nor the subject matter, nor even necessarily the intention of the artist that concerns me. The art, it can be argued, happens right here, right where I – or any other viewer – look at it and experience it. The Lipking paintings I have selected are simply sexy, regardless of what the painter’s intentions are. I realise that with that statement I have just arbitrarily draped the entire mantle of interpretation on the shoulders of the viewer; but that, I guess, is the point of this series. We could argue this round in a circle all day.

May I draw your attention to one painting that does not depend on nudity. in many ways it’s the sexiest image in this post. What a wonderful, simple thing is one single, slipped shoulder-strap…

jl1

jl3

jl4

jl5

jl6

jl2

__________

Images reproduced under ‘fair use’ provisions, for review purposes.

