Ask Morgana 106: Who is this artist?

ct00

1

 

I have had a couple of (friendly) emails lately, teasing me for running a series on ‘erotic art’ and simply picking any artist who has painted two or three nudes. Well, I think that’s fair game. My intention has always been to ‘talk around the subject’, and – be fair, now! – I have featured artists who have all levels of engagement in the erotic, including one whose ‘erotic’ work leaves me cold! Anyhow, I thought I would ring the changes today and feature an artist whose work is intentionally fun, funny, and sexy. It so happens that I had an old file of images I collected… oh, it must have been a decade ago… under the title ‘CHARLIE TIER’. Obviously I believed that to be the name of the artist. However, just now, when I came to do an internet search to refresh my information and look for new artwork, all mention of an artist by that name had disappeared, and no images could be found. So, if this isn’t ‘CHARLIE TIER’ then who on earth is it? Do you know? Drop me an email.

Whoever it is, I love the cheeky way that mouths and labia form little love-hearts, and the way that cartoon lines are punctuated by bright red boots, nipples, toenails, and lips. I love the subversion of Picasso in item 6 below.

2

2

3

3

4

4

5

5

6

6

__________

Images reproduced under ‘fair use’ provisions.

