Ask Morgana 059: Miscellany

xxbc01b

(1)

(1) How would it be to match this young woman foil-to-foil?

xxbc04b Cleo de Merode

(2)

 

I believe (2) is Cléo de Mérode again.

(3)

(3)

I don’t recall where I found (3), but I do recall it was captioned ‘Colorado bride, 1910s’.

(4)

(4)

(4) ‘Kaufmann’s Cycling Beauties’. Swiss-American Nicholas Edward Kaufmann was unofficial World Champion of ‘artistic cycling’ in 1888. His team of cycling women attracted a lot of attention in the strait-laced Victorian era.

(5)

(5)

I adore picture (5)! Things were obviously set up to take a few shots of the lady, when the photographer noticed the little girl peeking round the flat, with a mischievous expression on her face. Mama is failing to suppress a smile…

(6)

(6)

(6) Opera star Lina Cavalieri with a daring décolletage.

