Ask Morgana 043

Whilst researching for this sequence of photographs, I came across several that brought me up short. The photo booth – sitting in a corner of a bus station, or a railway station, or Woolworth’s – has been around for decades. Of course I can remember them when I was a girl, I can remember seeing legs below a grey curtain, hearing giggles, hearing shrieks as the flash went off. What I didn’t realise was that they have been around for at least a century, the original patent dating to the 1880s. Below are three examples of photographs from rural America. I think they make a refreshing change from the posed studio portraits I have featured up to now. I love the smiles, the relaxation of the subjects, and the beauty that lack of self-consciousness brings.

ed01a booth

ed01b booth

ed01c booth

