Ask Morgana 037

ed13aThank you for your emails and your questions. I am glad that so many of you are fascinated by this series of photographs. One correspondent asks me if I am simply going to reproduce every single picture of elegant, young, Edwardian women on the web. The answer to that is no, I’m not, only those that appeal to me for one reason or another. One of the most commented-upon photographs is this one to the left. It captures, according to my correspondents, a wonderful time of a girl’s life immediately before she becomes a woman. So I am going to revisit this theme with the photographs below.

There is no showy elegance in these, only natural ease. The photographer has posed them, but the presence is theirs alone. Perhaps not all the faces are ‘pretty’ at first glance. But such ‘prettiness’ is in the realm of the sentimentalist. These are real young women, real girls, and in these photographs their nature – and realism – triumphs.

ed94 girl00

ed95 girl01

ed97 girl03

