Ask Morgana 027: Brides

This collection shows photographs of brides, from 1850 through to Edwardian times. What strikes me is how rare it is to come across a picture of a bride who is smiling – there is half a smile on the very first photograph, perhaps. Each face seems solemn to me. In every case, there seems to be something essential missing. It is as though they know they are leaving the world of women and girls and entering the world of men. That’s the only way I can find of expressing what I see in these photographs.

1

1

bride vic2 1850

2

 

Photo number 3, by pioneering photographer Julia Margaret Cameron, has a ghostly feeling to it. By the way, Cameron is worth a blog post of her own, and I may make one some time soon.

bride vic4a

3

 

Bride number 4 is High Gothic!

bride vic05 gothic

4

 

The remainder have that Edwardian stateliness and ease, but why – still – so solemn?

 

5

5

6

6

7

7

8

8

